Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Natural Resources - 66th R.S. (1979)

Committee Members
Tom Craddick, Chair
Matt Garcia, Vice Chair
Cullen Rogers Looney, Vice Chair - Appropriative Matters
Erwin W. Barton
Jerry Clark
G.R. 'Bob' Close
Jimmie C. Edwards III
Gerald Geistweidt
Tom C. Massey
Pete Patterson
Paul Ragsdale
Froy Salinas
• Review the water code and other related statutes as to their conformity with the content and intent of the legislation which was enacted to merge the water-related agencies.
• Determine the means by which the Department of Water Resources can more expeditiously grant permits for water quality and quantity.
• Study the feasibility of requiring a format to be used for creating special legislative districts.
• Continue a close observation of the merger of water-related agencies under the Department of Water Resources to insure full implementation before the convening of the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature.
• Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 66th Regular Session of the Legislature. The agencies include:
Texas Department of Water Resources
Texas Coastal and Marine Council
Water Well Driller's Board.

Matt Garcia (Vice Chair ) resigned from the Natural Resources Committee September 1979 to accept an appointment to the Appropriations Committee. (Press Release, Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, September 11, 1979. See House Speaker Clayton Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1979-82.)
Erwin Barton (Member) appointed September 1979. (Press Release, Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, September 12, 1979. See House Speaker Clayton Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1979-82.)
The list of committee members printed on the letter of transmittal lists the committee members from the 65th Legislature.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.