Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Elections - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members
Herman Adams, Jr., Chair
Susan Gurley McBee, Chair
Susan Gurley McBee, Vice Chair
Don Rains, Vice Chair
Jerry Clark
Lanell Cofer
L. DeWitt Hale
Lance Lalor
Froy Salinas
Clay Smothers
Ralph Wallace
Ron Waters
Sarah Weddington
Brad Wright
• Oversight responsibility of agency expenditures and related transactions. This function shall encompass a review and monitoring of all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 65th Regular Session of the Legislature, to wit:
Secretary of State
• A study of various alternatives to funding of party primaries.
• A study of various voting procedures and systems with particular emphasis on the possibilities for fraud and abuse involved in each.
• A study of the various proposals for Presidential Preference Primaries with recommendations as to the desirability of such. Particular emphasis should be given to the particular dates and type of primary that would best suit the needs of the political parties and the electorate in general, including the possibility of regional primaries.
• A study of the desirability and effect of moving the date for the general primary elections in Texas, including the alternatives of a late summer primary and an early fall primary, and the option of a bifurcated primary if a system for Presidential Preference Primary is adopted.

Herman Adams (Chair) resigned 1/10/1978.
Susan McBee was promoted from Vice Chair to Chair, and Don Rains was promoted to Vice Chair, 1/30/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, January 30, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Lanell Cofer (Member) appointed 12/16/1977. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, December 16, 1977. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Jerry Clark (Member) appointed 5/1/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, May 1, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Sarah Weddington (Member) resigned 9/1/1977.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.