Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Elections - 64th R.S. (1975)

Committee Members
Luther Jones, Chair
Pike Powers, Vice Chair
Camm Lary, Vice Chair - Appropriative Matters
Hamp Atkinson
Bennie Bock II
Lance Lalor
James E. "Pete" Laney
Susan Gurley McBee
R.C. 'Nick' Nichols
Walt Parker
Joseph F. Pentony
Sarah Weddington
• Review the Texas Election Code and Article VI of the Texas Constitution to identify sections which unclear, invalid or outdated. Make recommendations for improving state election laws.*
• Study the use of electronic voting systems; review problems with punch card systems, including management failures, technical difficulties, and ballots with unclear or unreadable markings. Assess the adequacy of provisions to prevent election fraud. *
• Study proposals to streamline the local election process by creating a system of county election administrators.*
• Recommend provisions for inclusion in a presidential preference primary election system.*
• Review the Secretary of State's request for appropriations above the level recommended by the Legislative Budget Board.*
• Study the impact of the federal Voting Rights Act on Texas and its political subdivisions.*

Joseph Petony (Member) resigned 01/31/1976.
Lance Lalor (Member) appointed June 1976. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Bill Clayton, June 29, 1976. See House Press Memos, L1801.1 P926 1976).

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.