Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Legislative Reports - Search results - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Public School Finance, Select - 78th R.S. (2003)

Committee Members
Kent Grusendorf, Co-Chair
Florence Shapiro, Co-Chair
Teel Bivins
Talmadge Heflin
Fred Hill
Eddie Lucio
Vilma Luna
Kenny Marchant
Steve Ogden
Todd Staples
Leticia Van de Putte
Ron Wilson
• The committee shall conduct a study of issues affecting the duty of the legislature to establish and make suitable provision for the support and maintenance of an efficient system of public free schools.
The study shall include:
(1) a review of the state's revenue system as it related to the legislature's ability to provide for a constitutional school finance system;
(2) an assessment of funding options that will sustain Texas schools for the long term and that will substantially increase the state's share of public school funding;
(3) a determination of appropriate funding levels to enable high academic performance;
(4) an analysis of legitimate student and school district cost differences;
(5) a review of the appropriate role of the state in the provision of school facilities;
(6) an examination of strategies and practices that contribute to high academic performance in schools; and
(7) a review of possible incentives for improved student performance and cost-effective operation.

Appointed by joint proclamation issued August 6, 2003, as authorized by HCR 280, 78th Legislature, Regular Session, 2003
Public members Donald McAdams, Jack Ladd and Caroline Hoxby appointed by the Governor August 7, 2003.
Teel Bivins (Member) resigned effective 1/12/2004.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.