Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on State Affairs - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members
D.R. 'Tom' Uher, Chair
John Hoestenbach, Vice Chair
W. J. 'Bill' Blythe, Jr.
Bennie Bock II
Albert 'Al' Brown
Bill Ceverha
Jimmie C. Edwards III
Buck Florence
Gene Green
Don Henderson
Bob McFarland
Bob Simpson
David Stubbeman
Ralph Wallace
Sarah Weddington
• A study of the Texas Indian Commission, the Bureau of Indian Affairs and related state programs designed primarily for Texas Indians. This study should include recommendations if any as to the viability of existing and proposed programs and services as well as to the possibility of consolidation of ongoing programs and agency support.
• Oversight responsibility of agency expenditures and related transactions. This function shall encompass a review and monitoring of all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 65th Regular Session of the Legislature, to wit:
Amusement Machine Commission
Building Commission
Board of Control
Office of the Governor (less Criminal Justice Planning, Committee on Aging, and Office of Migrant Affairs)
Public Utilities Commission
Adjutant General
National Guard Armory Board
Board of Barber Examiners
Texas Cosmetology Commission
Commission of Fire Protection Personnel Standards and Education
Library and Historical Commission
Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz Memorial Naval Museum Commission
Firemans Pension Commissioner
Veterans Affairs Commission
Private Investigator's and Private Security Agencies
• A study of the policies of all state agencies and institutions dealing with the copyrighting of publications and articles in state publications. This study should produce recommendations as to guidelines to prevent future abuse of the copyright classification as applied to stat financed publications, and should also suggest procedures whereby articles and publications already copyrighted can be released from that classification.
• A study of the possibilities of a reorganization of the Executive Branch of State government. This study should include recommendations as to proposals for accomplishing this task, as well as recommendations as the necessity of such an effort.
• A study of the State Board of Control and its policies and procedures, including any recommendations as to methodology designed to aid the Board in carrying out its various responsibilities. This study should review the suggested merger of the Building Commission into the Board, making recommendations as to any statutory or regulatory changes necessary should this proposal be adopted.

Shirley Abbott (Member) appointed 12/15/1977. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, December 15, 1977. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Buck Florence (Member) resigned from the Committee on State Affairs 5/1/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, May 1, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Tip Hall (Member) appointed 5/1/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, May 1, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Sarah Weddington (Member) resigned 9/1/1977.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.