Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Direct search - Search resultsprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Search results Help  |  Status

SB 16, 85th Regular Session
Relating to decreasing the fee for the issuance of an original or renewed license to carry a handgun.

Last action: Effective on 9/1/17

Author: Robert Nichols
Joint Author: Joan Huffman
Coauthor: Brian Birdwell | Charles Perry | Lois Kolkhorst | Paul Bettencourt | Konni Burton | Bryan Hughes | Kelly Hancock | Craig Estes | Brandon Creighton | Don Huffines | Kel Seliger | Bob Hall | Charles Schwertner | Dawn Buckingham | Jane Nelson | Van Taylor | Larry Taylor | Donna Campbell
Sponsor: Phil King
Joint Sponsor: John Zerwas | Kyle Kacal | Byron Cook | DeWayne Burns
CoSponsor: Trent Ashby | Ernest Bailes | Cindy Burkett | Wayne Faircloth | John Frullo | Justin Holland | Stan Lambert | Jodie Laubenberg | Will Metcalf | Chris Paddie | Tan Parker | John Raney | Kevin Roberts | Leighton Schubert | J. D. Sheffield | Ron Simmons | Ed Thompson | James White | John Wray | Ryan Guillen | Cole Hefner | Travis Clardy | Dan Huberty | Pat Fallon | Angie Button | James Frank | R. D. "Bobby" Guerra | Mark Keough | Ken King | John Kuempel | Jeff Leach | Andrew Murr | Dade Phelan | Larry Phillips | Mike Schofield | Drew Springer

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 179, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 300 (Identical)
HB 339 (Identical)
HB 1024 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)

Gubernatorial documents:

Criminal Procedure--General
Fees & Other Nontax Revenue--Local
Military & Veterans

House Committee: Homeland Security & Public Safety (Phil King, DeWayne Burns, Gina Hinojosa, Justin Holland, Jarvis Johnson, Will Metcalf, Poncho Nevárez, Matt Schaefer, John Wray)
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Joan Huffman, Brian Birdwell, Brandon Creighton, Craig Estes, Bryan Hughes, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Jane Nelson, Charles Schwertner, Judith Zaffirini)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.