Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Direct search - Search resultsprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Search results Help  |  Status

SB 15, 85th Regular Session
Relating to an exemption from ad valorem taxation of the residence homestead of the surviving spouse of a first responder who is killed or fatally injured in the line of duty.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Don Huffines
Joint Author: Bob Hall | Kelly Hancock | Van Taylor | Royce West
Coauthor: Juan Hinojosa | Craig Estes | José Rodríguez | Sylvia Garcia | Larry Taylor | José Menéndez | Paul Bettencourt | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Brandon Creighton
Sponsor: Pat Fallon
Joint Sponsor: Angie Button | Chris Turner | Richard Peña Raymond | Charlie Geren
CoSponsor: Roberto Alonzo | Rafael Anchia | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Rodney Anderson | Ernest Bailes | Cecil Bell | Diego Bernal | Kyle Biedermann | César Blanco | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | Cindy Burkett | DeWayne Burns | Dustin Burrows | Briscoe Cain | Terry Canales | Giovanni Capriglione | Philip Cortez | Scott Cosper | Tom Craddick | John Cyrier | Tony Dale | Jay Dean | Gary Elkins | Wayne Faircloth | Dan Flynn | James Frank | John Frullo | Larry Gonzales | R. D. "Bobby" Guerra | Ryan Guillen | Cole Hefner | Abel Herrero | Gina Hinojosa | Justin Holland | Donna Howard | Jason Isaac | Mark Keough | Phil King | Tracy King | Stephanie Klick | Linda Koop | Matt Krause | John Kuempel | Stan Lambert | Brooks Landgraf | Mike Lang | Lyle Larson | Jodie Laubenberg | Jeff Leach | J. M. Lozano | Eddie Lucio III | Armando Martinez | Will Metcalf | Morgan Meyer | Rick Miller | Ina Minjarez | Joe Moody | Geanie W. Morrison | Sergio Muñoz, Jr. | Andrew Murr | Victoria Neave | Tom Oliverson | Chris Paddie | Tan Parker | Dennis Paul | Mary Ann Perez | Dade Phelan | Larry Phillips | Joseph Pickett | Matt Rinaldi | Kevin Roberts | Eddie Rodriguez | Justin Rodriguez | Ramon Romero | Scott Sanford | Matt Schaefer | Mike Schofield | Leighton Schubert | Matt Shaheen | J. D. Sheffield | Hugh Shine | Ron Simmons | Drew Springer | Phil Stephenson | Lynn Stucky | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Tomas Uresti | Gary VanDeaver | James White | Terry M. Wilson | Paul Workman | John Wray | Gene Wu | Bill Zedler | Greg Bonnen | John Zerwas | Drew Darby | Byron Cook | Trent Ashby | Todd Hunter | Barbara Gervin-Hawkins

Remarks: This Act takes effect January 1, 2018, but only if SJR 1 is approved by the voters.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 511, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 570 (Identical)
HB 2524 (Identical)

Enabling legislation for: SJR 1

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Fire Fighters & Police--General
Health--Emergency Services & Personnel
Law Enforcement
Property Interests--Homestead
Taxation--Property-Appraisals & Appraisal Districts

House Committee: Ways & Means (Dennis Bonnen, Dwayne Bohac, Drew Darby, Yvonne Davis, Eric Johnson, Jim Murphy, Andrew Murr, Richard Peña Raymond, Hugh Shine, Drew Springer, Phil Stephenson)
Senate Committee: Finance (Jane Nelson, Paul Bettencourt, Brian Birdwell, Donna Campbell, Kelly Hancock, Juan Hinojosa, Joan Huffman, Lois Kolkhorst, Robert Nichols, Charles Schwertner, Kel Seliger, Larry Taylor, Carlos Uresti, Kirk Watson, Royce West, John Whitmire)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.