Legislative Reference Library

Texas Legislators: Past & Present

Edwin Ray Spencer

Full Name: Edwin Ray Spencer
Birth date: September 17, 1883
Death date: March 31, 1962

Terms of Service

  • House, 35th (1) (2) (3) Legislature
    1/9/1917 - 8/30/1917
(1) Resolution granting leaves of absence to members who enlisted for military service, pp. 155-156. House Journal .
(2) John J. Ford, in special election 9/24/1917, sworn 2/26/1918, succeeded Edwin R. Spencer, who did not attend 3rd Called Session. Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004 2005.
(3) "Trench Fights Rage Daily at Camp Funston," 8/1/1917, "Legislators Leave Camp." Myron G. Blalock, E.R. Spencer, Wallace Hawkins, George Peddy, and Harry Fisher, all in military training at Camp Funston, left the camp on Tuesday, 7/31/1917 to attend impeachment proceedings against Governor Ferguson. Another member, Woodall Rogers, also at the Camp, "has been transferred to Fortress Monroe and in all probability cannot attend the session." San Antonio Light .

Biographical Notes and Resources


Other Resources

  • "Former County Attorney, E.R. Spencer, Dies," 4/5/1962, p. 1. "After the war he served as representative in the State Legislature from the Sweetwater district and was later assistant to the Texas Secretary of State." Colorado County Citizen (Columbus, Texas) .
  • Edwin Ray Spencer, birth date 9/17/1882 in Indiana, death date 3/31/1962 in Bay City, Matagorda County, Texas. FamilySearch Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 .
  • United States Army, 1st Lieutenant, Infantry, World War I. Edwin Ray Spencer, residence Sweetwater, Nolan County, Texas, birth date 9/17/1883 in Liberty, Indiana, called into active service as 1st Lieutenant, Infantry 8/15/1917, engagements Champagne, Marne, wounded in action 7/30/1918 at Seringes France, honorable discharge 8/12/1919. FamilySearch Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 (Texas Military Forces Museum, Austin) .
  • 35th Legislature (1917) - Edwin R. Spencer, postoffice Sweetwater, nativity Louisiana, age 33 (born circa 1884), lawyer, Democrat. Texas Legislative Manual .

Committee Information

LRL Home | View full site