BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 76R12140 JMC-D C.S.S.B. 915 By: Wentworth Jurisprudence 5/4/1999 Committee Report (Substituted)

DIGEST

The population and number of cases filed in East Texas courts of appeals districts have changed considerably since their last redrawing in 1963. Additionally, the fact that several counties overlap multiple districts creates problems in the administration of justice. C.S.S.B. 915 eliminates certain overlaps and redistributes the population and case loads in the East Texas courts of appeals districts by redesignating the composition of certain counties.

PURPOSE

As proposed, C.S.S.B. 915 redesignates the counties which compose the First, Fifth, Sixth, Ninth, Tenth, Twelfth, and Fourteenth Courts of Appeals Districts.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Sections 22.201(b), (f), (g), (j), (k), (m), and (o), Government Code, as follows:

(b) Removes the counties of Austin, Brazos, Burleson, Chambers, Colorado, Grimes, Trinity, Walker, Waller, and Washington, from the list of counties which compose the First Court of Appeals District. Makes conforming changes.

(f) Removes the counties of Hunt and Van Zandt from the list of counties which compose the Fifth Court of Appeals District. Makes conforming changes.

(g) Adds the counties of Rains, Shelby, and Van Zandt, and removes Gregg and Upshur, from the counties which compose the Sixth Court of Appeals District. Makes conforming changes.

(j) Adds the counties of Chambers, Trinity, and Walker, and removes Angelina, from the counties which compose the Ninth Court of Appeals District. Makes conforming changes.

(k) Adds the counties of Austin, Burleson, Colorado, Grimes, Waller, and Washington, to the list of counties which compose the Tenth Court of Appeals District. Makes conforming changes.

(m) Adds Angelina County, and removes Hopkins, Kaufman, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Shelby, Van Zandt, and Wood, from the list of counties which compose the Twelfth Court of Appeals District. Makes conforming changes.

(o) Removes the counties of Austin, Brazos, Burleson, Chambers, Colorado, Grimes, Trinity, Walker, Waller, and Washington, from the list of counties which compose the Fourteenth Court of Appeals District. Makes conforming changes.

SECTION 2. Repealers:

Section 22.207(c), Government Code (regarding criminal cases from Hopkins County). Section 22.213(d), Government Code (regarding criminal case appeals to a Hopkins County court)

SECTION 3. Provides that if transcripts for a case are filed prior to September 1, 1999, and this Act would transfer that case to a different court, then this Act does not affect that case's jurisdiction on appeal.

SECTION 4. Effective date: September 1, 1999.

SUMMARY OF COMMITTEE CHANGES

SECTION 1.

Amends Sections 22.201(b), (f), (g), (j), (k), (m), and (o), Government Code, to reassign counties which compose the First, Fifth, Sixth, Ninth, Tenth, Twelfth, and Fourteenth Court of Appeals Districts.

SECTION 2.

Creates repealers.

SECTIONS 3 and 4.

Redesignated from SECTIONS 2 and 3.