BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center 80R3403 DWS-D

S.B. 1480 By: Brimer Transportation & Homeland Security 4/2/2007 As Filed

AUTHOR'S / SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

As proposed, S.B. 1480 combines several counties from the Fort Worth and Dallas districts of the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) into one TxDOT district. The counties included in the new district are Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, and Wise.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Section 201.105(b), Transportation Code, to require the Texas Transportation Commission (commission), in determining a Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) district's boundaries, to consider all costs and benefits and include specific counties in a single district.

SECTION 2. Requires the commission, not later than January 1, 2008, to conform the boundaries of TxDOT districts to conform to the changes made by this Act.

SECTION 3. Effective date: upon passage or September 1, 2007.