Primary Update: Members Not Returning, 87th Legislature

Posted At: August 4, 2020 10:00 AM | Posted By: TexasLRL Related Categories: 87th Session, Members of the Legislature

In January, we compiled a list of members not returning to the 87th Texas Legislature. An updated list that includes the results of the recent primary election is provided below. 17 members of the Texas House and 3 members of the Texas Senate will not return in 2021. To see a full list of members of the 86th Texas Legislature (2019), please go here. Note that regardless of election outcomes, all of these legislators will keep their respective seats until January 2021, unless they resign earlier.

Information about primary elections requiring runoffs is available on the Secretary of State's current elections page.

Lorraine Defeated in Democratic primary election,

Birabil 7/14/2020

César Blanco Running for Texas Senate District 29

Dwayne Bohac Retiring

Dennis Bonnen Retiring

Anna Defeated in Democratic primary election,

Eastman 7/14/2020

Pat Fallon Resigning effective 1/4/2021

Jessica Resigned effective 9/30/2019

Dan Flynn Defeated in Republican primary election,

7/14/2020

Roland
Gutierrez

Running for Texas Senate District 19

Eric Johnson Elected Mayor of Dallas, sworn in 6/17/2019

Mke Lang Running for Hood County Commissioner

Rick Miller Retiring

Poncho Nevárez Retiring

J.D. Defeated in Republican primary election,

Sheffield 7/14/2020

Jonathan Stickland Retiring

John Wray Retiring
Bill Zedler Retiring

Resigned 9/30/19 to take new position as

John Zerwas Executive Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs,

The University of Texas System

José Rodríguez

Retiring

Retiring

Resigned 4/30/2020 to take new position as Kirk Watson Founding Dean of the University of Houston's

Hobby School of Public Affairs