# Preview of the 87th Legislature Posted At: January 11, 2021 9:30 AM| Posted By: TexasLRL

Related Categories: 87th Session, Members of the Legislature

Below you'll find a preview of the 87th Texas Legislature. New and returning members will be sworn in on January 12, 2021, the opening day of the regular session.

Membership statistics for previous sessions are available on the library's Member statistics page.

## Summary of the 87th Legislature

PARTY	HOUS	SE SENA	TEOVERALL
Democrat	67	13	80
Republican	182	18	100
Total	149*	31	180

#### **GENDERHOUSE SENATE OVERALL**

Male	111	21	132
Female	38	10	48
Total	149*	.31	180

#### INCUMBENCY\*\*HOUSE SENATE OVERALL

Incumbents	132**	27	159
Freshmen	16	4	20
Total	148**	31	179

AGE***	HOUSE	ESENATE	EOVERALL
Under 30	0	0	0
30-39	16	0	16
40-49	43	1	44
50-59	44	15	59
60-69	29	7	36
70 and over	<sup>-</sup> 17	8	25
No response	e1	0	1

Total 149 31 180 Average 53.8 61.5 55.4

## Members not returning to the 87th Texas Legislature

### Texas House of Representatives

HOUSE DISTRICT	NOT RETURNING  Lorraine Birabil (D)	REPLACEMENT
100	Eric Johnson (D)	Jasmine Crockett (D)
76	in 86th R.S.  César  Blanco (D)  Elected to  Senate  District 29	Claudia Ordaz Perez (D)
138	Dwayne Bohac (R)	Lacey Hull (R)
25	Dennis Bonnen (R)	Cody Vasut (R)
132	Gina Calanni (D)	Mke Schofield (R)
134	Sarah Davis (R)	Ann Johnson (D)

<sup>\*</sup>House District 68 is TBD in a special runoff election on January 23, 2021. Governor's Proclamation, December 28, 2021.

<sup>\*\*</sup>Incumbent totals include members who served the previous session. Freshman totals include members whose first terms begin the first day of session: January 12, 2021. Not included as incumbent or freshman: Mke Schofield (first served in 84th-85th sessions). \*\*\*Age calculations are based on the membership as of the first day of session: January 12, 2021.

## Anna Eastman (D)

148		Penny Mbrales Shaw
	Jessica	(D)
	Farrar (D)	
	in the 86th	
	R. S.	
2	Dan	Bryan Slaton
2	Flynn (R)	(R)
	Roland	
	Gutierrez	
119	(D)	Liz Campos
	Elected to	(D)
	Senate	
	District 19	Oleven Devene
60	Mke	Glenn Rogers
	Lang (R)	(R)
26	Rick	Jacey Jetton
	Mller (R)	(R)
74	Poncho	Eddie
	Nevárez (D)	Morales (D)
59	J.D.	Shelby
	Sheffield (R)	Slawson (R)
	Drew	Special
	Springer (R)	election to be
68	Elected to	held January 23, 2021
	Senate	(Governor's
	District 30	Proclamation)
	Jonathan	
92	Stickland (R)	Jeff Cason (R)
10	John	Jake Ellzey
10	Wray (R)	(R)
04	Bill	David Cook
96	Zedler (R)	(R)
28	John	Gary Gates
20	Zerwas (R)	(R)

SENATE DISTRICT	NOT RETURNING	REPLACEMENT
30	Pat Fallon (R)	Drew Springer (R)
19	Pete Flores (R)	Roland Gutierrez (D)
29	José Rodriguez (R)	César Blanco (D)
14	Kirk Watson (D)	Sarah Eckhardt (D)

Photos of new members will be added once they're available.