Updated: Members Not Returning, 86th Legislature

Posted At : June 12, 2018 2:30 PM | Posted By : TexasLRL Related Categories: Members of the Legislature, 86th Session

In January, we compiled a list of members not returning to the 86th Texas Legislature. An updated list that includes the results of the recent primary runoffs is provided below. 21 members of the Texas House and 2 members of the Texas Senate will not return in 2019. To see a full list of members of the 85th Texas Legislature (2017), please go here. Note that regardless of election outcomes, all of these legislators will keep their respective seats until January 2019, unless they resign earlier.

Table: Members not returning to the 86th Texas Legislature

Rep. Roberto Alonzo	Defeated in Democratic primary election, 3/6/2018
Rep. Diana Arévalo	Defeated in Democratic primary election, 3/6/2018
Rep. Cindy Burkett	Defeated in Republican primary election for Texas Senate, 3/6/2018
Rep. Byron Cook	Retiring
Rep. Scott Cosper	Defeated in Republican primary runoff election, 5/22/2018
Rep. Dawnna Dukes	Defeated in Democratic primary election, 3/6/2018
Sen. Craig Estes	Defeated in Republican primary election, 3/6/2018
Rep. Wayne Faircloth	Defeated in Republican primary election, 3/6/2018
Rep. Pat Fallon	Won Republican primary for Texas Senate, 3/6/2018
Rep. Helen Giddings	Retiring
Rep. Larry Gonzales	Resigned effective 6/7/2018
Rep. Lance Gooden	Won Republican primary runoff for U.S. House of Representatives, 5/22/2018
Rep. Jason Isaac	Defeated in Republican primary election for U.S. House of Representatives, 3/6/2018
Rep. Mark Keough	Won Republican primary election for Montgomery County judge, 3/6/2018

Rep. Jodie Laubenberg	Retiring
Rep. René Oliveira	Defeated in Democratic primary runoff election, 5/22/2018
Rep. Larry Phillips	Resigned effective 4/30/2018
Rep. Kevin Roberts	Defeated in Republican primary runoff election for U.S. House of Representatives, 5/22/2018
Rep. Leighton Schubert	Resigned effective 2/4/2018
Rep. Joe Straus	Retiring
Sen. Van Taylor	Won Republican primary election for U.S. House of Representatives, 3/6/2018
Rep. Tomas Uresti	Defeated in Democratic primary election, 3/6/2018
Rep. Jason Villalba	Defeated in Republican primary election, 3/6/2018