## Members Not Returning, 88th Legislature

Posted At: September 6, 2022 11: 25 AM | Posted By: TexasLRL Related Categories: 88th Session, Members of the Legislature

Below is a list of members (as of September 6, 2022) not returning to the 88th Texas Legislature in their current offices. Note that regardless of election outcomes, all of these legislators will keep their respective seats until January 2023, unless they resign earlier.

To learn more about who will be on the general election ballot, information about candidates by county and party is available on the Texas Secretary of State's candidate ballot order page. Results of the primary election and primary runoff elections are available on the Texas Secretary of State's election results page.

Total members not returning to 88th Legislature (as of September 6, 2022) = 35

House = 29; Senate = 6

## Texas House of Representatives

Rep. Mchelle Beckley	Defeated in Democratic primary runoff election for Lieutenant Governor, 5/24/2022
Rep. Kyle Biedermann	Retiring
Rep. Jeff Cason	Retiring
Rep. Garnet Coleman	Resigned effective 2/28/2022
Rep. Jasmine Crockett	Running for Congressional District 30
Rep. John Cyrier	Retiring
Rep. Joe Deshotel	Retiring
Rep. Alex Dominguez	Defeated in Democratic primary election for Texas Senate District 27, 3/1/2022
Rep. Jake Ellzey	Elected to Congressional District 6 on 7/27/2021; resigned from Texas House effective 7/30/2021
Rep. Art Fierro	Defeated in Democratic primary election, 3/1/2022
Rep. John Frullo	Retiring
Rep. Dan Huberty	Retiring
Rep. Celia Israel	Running for Mayor of Austin

Rep. Phil King	Running for Texas Senate District 10
Rep. Matt Krause	Defeated in Republican primary runoff election for Tarrant County District Attorney, 5/24/2022
Rep. Lyle Larson	Retiring
Rep. Ben Leman	Retiring
Rep. Eddie Lucio III	Resigned effective 1/31/2022
Rep. Mayes Middleton	Running for Texas Senate District 11
Rep. Ina Mnjarez	Defeated in Democratic primary runoff election for Bexar County Judge, 5/24/2022
Rep. Jim Murphy	Retiring
Rep. Leo Pacheco	Resigned effective 8/19/2021
Rep. Chris Paddie	Retiring; Resigned effective 3/1/2022
Rep. Tan Parker	Running for Texas Senate District 12
Rep. Eddie Rodriguez	Defeated in Democratic primary election for Congressional District 35, 3/1/2022
Rep. Scott Sanford	Retiring
Rep. Phil Stephenson	Defeated in Republican primary runoff election, 5/24/2022
Rep. John Turner	Retiring
Rep. James White	Defeated in Republican primary election for Texas Agriculture Commissioner, 3/1/2022; resigned effective 8/11/2022

## Texas Senate

Sen. Dawn Buckingham	Running for Texas Land Commissioner
Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr.	Retiring
Sen. Jane Nelson	Retiring
Sen. Beverly Powell	Retiring; suspended campaign for Texas Senate District 10, 4/6/2022
Sen. Kel Seliger	Retiring
Sen. Larry Taylor	Retiring