House Committee on Direct Tax, Select - 11th R.S. (1866)

Committee Members


  • Ascertain the amount per hundred dollars of United States taxes collectable under the title of Direct Tax.
  • Ascertain the officers who are authorized by the Treasury Department of the Federal Government to collect and receipt for said taxes in the State of Texas.


Appointed 8/14/1866, pursuant to resolution by Smith of Harris; Ashbel Smith listed as Chairman on select committee report (House Journal, 11th R.S., pp. 41, 46-53).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.