Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Transportation - 67th R.S. (1981)

Committee Members
Don Henderson, Chair
Lanny Hall, Vice Chair
Frank Tejeda, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Oscar Brookshire
Albert 'Al' Brown
David Cain
Al Edwards
Frank Eikenburg
Ed Emmett
Clint Hackney
Irma Rangel
Alan Schoolcraft
• Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature. In addition, a study should be made of the impact of any federal cuts, and the differences in the operational aspect of the agencies under block vs. categorical grants. Close scrutiny should be given to each agency to ascertain if legislative intent is being carried out in the rules promulgated by the agency and if the rules are feasible and practical in their application. These agencies include:
Aircraft Pooling Board
State Department of Highways and Public Transportation
Railroad Commission (partial)
Texas Transportation Institute
Motor Vehicle Commission
Department of Public Safety (partial -- Traffic Law Enforcement)
Texas Aeronautics Commission
• Study rail safety in Texas. Examine the nature, extent and cause of accidents, and review track condition factors and inspection programs. Analyze the responsibilities of federal and state agencies and the private sector, and suggest measures that will lead to safer and more efficient use of the Texas rail network.
• Review the Highway Cost Index, its components and formulas. Examine highway funding in Texas, giving particular scrutiny to the areas of construction and maintenance, and make suitable recommendations. Review Texas highway construction problems, giving emphasis to ways of sustaining reasonable traffic flows while crews are resurfacing roads, methods of promoting safety and protecting maintenance crews while resurfacing roads.
• Continue to study the merits and demerits of intra-state deregulation of the trucking industry and the effect on services and ensurability of products moved in commerce. Review the experiences of Arizona, Florida and South Dakota.
• Review the history and nature of pilotage problems in Texas ports and make suitable recommendations.
• Study and review in cooperation with the Texas Railroad Commission the feasibility of establishing increased intercity rail service in Texas.

District 57C member was Alan Schoolcraft 1/13-1/15/1981 and 2/16/1981-1/11/1983; Albert D. Brown 1/15-2/16/1981.
No report was issued.
Charges are from Index to Interim Committees from the 67th & 68th Legislatures, L1800.1 In8 1981-84.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.