Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Department of Public Education, Select - 17th R.S. (1881)

Committee Members
Henry Clay Mack, Chair
Lafayette Lumpkin Foster
John Henry Traylor
  • Visit the office of the Board of Public Education and inquire into public school appropriations and expenditures.*
  • Ascertain upon what accounts, for what various purposes, and to whom said moneys have been paid; how such accounts have been kept, and inquire into their correctness.*
  • Carefully consider the nature of and necessity for all forms, circulars and other documents published by said board; ascertain the cost of the same.*
  • Make diligent inquiry concerning any other matters pertaining to the department of public education.*

Appointed by Speaker 2/5/1881, pursuant to resolution by Mack; Mack listed as Chairman in committee report 3/15/1881 (House Journal, 17th R.S., pp. 113, 125, 281).

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.