Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Judiciary - 72nd R.S. (1991)

Committee Members
Betty Denton, Chair
John Smithee, Vice Chair
Toby Goodman
Will Hartnett
Samuel Hudson III
Paul Moreno
Paul Sadler
Sue Schechter
D.R. 'Tom' Uher
  • Monitor and oversee legislation enacted during the 72nd Regular and Special Called Sessions that was considered by the Judiciary Committee; Performance Audit Review Recommendations; and any agency-initiated changes.
  • Carry out budget and oversight responsibilities for all agencies, boards, and commissions listed in Rule 3, Section 20.

    A. Monitor and oversee documentation of salary increases.

    B. Verify the number and status of outcomes and outputs as identified in the Appropriations Bill (HB 1, 72nd Legislature, 1st Called Session).

    C. Review agencies' existing performance standards and determine whether new standards are needed.
  • Study Justice of the Peace (JP) courts in Texas, including their history, their judicial training process and proposals for change in their structure.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.