Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Science and Technology - 72nd R.S. (1991)

Committee Members
Ashley Smith, Chair
Albert Price, Vice Chair
Fred Bosse
Kevin Brady
Wilhelmina Delco
Sherri Greenberg
Christine Hernandez
Brian McCall
Bob Turner
Tim Von Dohlen
• Monitor and oversee legislation enacted during the 72nd Regular and Special Called Sessions that was considered by the Committee on Science and Technology; Performance Audit Review Recommendations; and any agency-initiated changes.
• Carry out budget and oversight responsibilities for all agencies, boards, and commissions listed in Rule 3, Section 31.
A. Monitor and oversee documentation of salary increases.
B. Verify the number and status of outcomes and outputs as identified in the Appropriations Bill (HB 1, 72nd Legislature, 1st Called Session).
C. Review agencies' existing performance standards and determine whether new standards are needed.
• Study the application of advanced technology in the state's school system, and more specifically, study the educational impact that the experimental Schoolink Project has had on the state and opportunities and requirements for its expansion.
• Study options and opportunities to transfer technology developed by state employees. The study should address intellectual property ownership; licensing; equity ownership in spin-off ventures; royalty collection and disbursement; employee rewards; rights and incentives; and transfer priorities to Texas agencies, federal agencies, and other state's hardware/software systems; and other inventions.

House Journal committee appointments, 72nd Legislature show "District 65" appointed. This seat was later filled by Bob Turner (sworn 3/6/1991 and appointed to committee 3/7/1991).
1st C.S.: Wilhelmina Delco (Member) resigned and Brian McCall (Member) appointed, 7/19/1991.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.