Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members
Gib Lewis, Chair
John Whitmire, Vice Chair
Jimmie C. Edwards III
Smith Gilley
Bill Haley
Anthony Hall
Herman E. Lauhoff
Lyndon Olson, Jr.
Fred Orr
Abraham D. Ribak
Stan Schlueter
David Stubbeman
Frank Tejeda
Chase Untermeyer
• Oversight responsibility of agency expenditures and related transactions. This function shall encompass a review and monitoring of all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this Committee for appropriative purposes during the 65th Regular Session of the Legislature, to wit: Department of Community Affairs.
• A study of urban development in general, to include urban sprawl and its effect; annexation policies of cities and the problems and effects caused thereby; and the emerging administrative problems of urban areas, including methods of financing improvements and urban blight and renovation.
• A study local government structures, including powers and resources and demands thereupon with recommendations as to any necessary legislative action to provide flexibility and uniformity of operation.
• A study of intra-state regions and special districts to include a report on the trends towards metropolitan area governments, and recommendations as to any necessary legislative action to control or redirect the direction of regional councils of government.
• A study of the methodology, effect of and financial ramifications of the State electing to withdraw participation in the social security system of state employees.

Stan Schlueter (Member) resigned from the Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs 2/22/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, February 22, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Bill Haley (Member) appointed 3/16/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, March 16, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.