Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Natural Resources - 74th R.S. (1995)

Committee Members
J.E. 'Buster' Brown, Chair
Bill Sims, Chair
Carlos F. Truan, Vice Chair
Ken Armbrister
Gonzalo Barrientos
Teel Bivins
Tom Haywood
Eddie Lucio
John T. Montford
Drew Nixon
Bill Ratliff
Jim Turner
• Study the use of cost benefit analysis and risk assessment in environmental regulation.
• Monitor the interstate ozone transport agreement currently being developed by the Environmental Protection Agency and study the impact of the proposed agreement on Texas.
• Monitor the effectiveness of the environmental audit legislation, HB 2473, 74th Legislature, Regular Session, in increasing voluntary reporting of environmental violations.
• Monitor the implementation of the property rights legislation, SB 14, 74th Legislature, Regular Session.
• Examine the US Fish and Wildlife Service's decision to enact the Columbia Bottomlands Protection Plan, which would create a habitat for migratory birds in Brazoria, Matagorda, Fort Bend and Wharton Counties, and determine the effects of the plan on the region.
• Monitor the implementation of the petroleum storage tank bill, HB 2587, 74th Legislature, Regular Session.
• Study the Texas aquaculture industry and determine if additional regulation is necessary due to discharge into state bays and estuaries.
• Monitor the implementation of the waste tire recycling bill SB 776, 74th Legislature, Regular Session.

Jim Turner (Member) appointed 2/21/1995 and resigned 4/10/1995. Bill Sims resigned as Chair and appointed as Member, 2/6/1996. J. E. "Buster" Brown (Chair) appointed 2/6/1996. John T. Montford (Member) resigned 8/21/1996.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.