Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Natural Resources - 77th R.S. (2001)

Committee Members
J.E. 'Buster' Brown, Chair
Robert Duncan, Vice Chair
Kip Averitt
Gonzalo Barrientos
David Bernsen
Teel Bivins
Craig Estes
Tom Haywood
Eddie Lucio
• Assess current efforts to reduce emissions and comply with standards in the federal Clean Air Act. The Committee should monitor the efforts of the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan Advisory Committee established in SB 5, 77th Legislature, Regular Session.
• Monitor the implementation of the colonia water and wastewater self-help grant program established in SB 312, 77th Legislature, Regular Session.
• Monitor the activities of the Joint Committee on Water Resources, the Texas Water Advisory Council and the Joint Interim Committee on Office of Natural Resource Public Interest Counsel.
• Study and evaluate the state's ability to respond to natural disasters, such as hurricanes, tropical storms, coastal flooding and flooding along the state's river basins; assess the extent to which population growth and land use along the coast and the river basins has increased the state's vulnerability to such hazards. The Committee shall make recommendations on the state's flood mitigation program and state coordination with the federal government and political subdivisions of the state.
• Study and make recommendations on the research and use of alternative fuels and fuel additives in Texas. The Committee shall assess the cost-benefit of innovative technology in converting solid and agricultural waste into fuel and fuel additives.

Tom Haywood (Member) died 7/12/2001. Craig Estes (Member) appointed 12/10/2001. J. E. "Buster" Brown (Chair) resigned 8/29/2002. Robert Duncan (Acting Chair) appointed 8/30/2002. Kip Averitt (Member) appointed 9/18/2002.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.