Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Texas Commission on City and County Governments - 56th R.S. (1959)

Committee Members
Ben Atwell
Robert W. Baker
Marshall Odom Bell
Warren Clay Cowen
Louis M. Crump
Frank Owen III
Raymond Richard Russell
• RESOLVED, By the Senate of the State of Texas, the House of Representatives concurring, that a commission to study the feasibility and advisability of consolidating of services of city and county governments to be known as the Texas Commission on City and County Governments, shall be appointed, consisting of nine (9) members; three (3) members of the Texas House of Representatives to be chosen by the Speaker of the House; three (3) members of the Senate of Texas to be chosen by the Lieutenant Governor; and three (3) public members to be appointed by the Governor of Texas.
RESOLVED, That the Commission shall gather all pertinent information and data relating to consolidation of city and county governments in other states; identify and consider the factors bearing upon such consolidation of services in Texas, especially in the metropolitan areas; and study and devise ways and means both constitutionally and statutorily, of effecting consolidation of services of cities and counties in Texas.

Appointed by Speaker 11/6/1959 and Lieutenant Governor (Senate Journal, 56th 3rd C.S. p. 212), pursuant to SCR 18, 56th Legislature.
3rd C.S.: Marshall Bell (Member) appointed by Speaker to replace Raymond Russell, 9/29/1960.
The report can also be found at S.J. of Tex., 57th Leg., R.S. 1430 (1961).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.