Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

State and Local School Disricts Financial Relationship (Committee of Eighteen) - 61st R.S. (1969)

Committee Members
A.M. Aikin, Jr., Chair
Joe H. Golman
George T. Hinson
Renal B. Rosson
A.R. 'Babe' Schwartz
James L. Slider
W.E. 'Pete' Snelson
W.R. Baker
Lee Hill
John W. McFarland
• The committee shall have the responsibility of studying the relationship between the State and local school districts in financing the Minimum Foundation Program. They shall examine the infrastructure of the Economic Index now in operation, ascertaining its weaknesses and its strengths. It shall review the findings of the Governor's Committee on Public School Education and evaluate information available relative to the financing of the Minimum Foundation Program. They shall explore all facets and all possibilities in relation to this problem area and shall recommend to a called session of the Legislature or to the 62nd Legislature convening in 1971 a specific formula or formulae to establish a fair and equitable basis for the division of the financial responsibility between the State and the various local school districts of Texas.

House members appointed by Speaker 1/1/1970, pursuant to HB 240. Senate members listed in committee press release (L1836.61 St29p).
Representative Slider appointed April 3, 1970 to replace Representative Hinson.
George Hinson died 3/26/1970.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.