Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Prison Reform - 63rd R.S. (1973)

Committee Members
Chet Brooks, Chair
Mickey Leland, Vice Chair
Ron Clower
Ronald D. Coleman
Lloyd Doggett
Jimmie C. Edwards III
R.A. 'Bob' Gammage
Anthony Hall
O.H. 'Ike' Harris
Joe Hernandez
Eddie Bernice Johnson
Bill Meier
Walter Mengden
Chris Miller
• Study needed reforms in the Texas system of imprisonment of convicted persons with the purpose of seeking meaningful alternatives to the present anti-social aspects of the system which are not conducive to the rehabilitation of inmates and their return to society as productive, useful, and law-abiding citizens.

Appointed by Lieutenant Governor and Speaker, pursuant to SCR 87. House members appointed July 31, 1973. (Letter from Price Daniel, Jr., Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, to Mark White, Secretary of State, July 31, 1973. See House Press Memos 1973, L1801.1 P926 1973.) Senate members listed on report. Interim Committees: 62nd-66th Legislatures, 1971-1979, L1800.1 In8 1971-79, shows Senators Patman and Schwartz as members instead of Doggett and Gammage.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.