Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Environmental Regulation - 73rd R.S. (1993)

Committee Members
Warren Chisum, Chair
Robert Saunders, Vice Chair
Bill Blackwood
Robert Eckels
Patricia Gray
Harvey Hilderbran
Mike Jackson
Edmund Kuempel
Ron Lewis
Keith Oakley
Elvira Reyna
Robert Talton
• Examine the opportunities and impediments to creating special solid waste management districts to provide services to rural communities.
• Study preventive measures available to state and local governments that can maintain or enhance air quality conditions in those metropolitan areas in Texas presently meeting the national ambient air quality standards.
• Study the state's requirements for the siting of environmentally sensitive facilities and make recommendations to address associated land use compatibility concerns.
• Conduct active oversight of agencies under the committee's jurisdiction, including a study of mandated reports to the legislature and legislative agencies. The study should consist of a review of the legislative reporting requirements of all agencies to identify areas where reporting obligations could be streamlined and agency accountability improved. The committee shall make specific recommendations about the continuation, modification or elimination of required legislative reports.

House Journal committee appointments, 73rd Legislature, p. 180 show "District 144" appointed. On 2/15/1993, HR 254, 73rd Legislature, discharged the Select Committee on Election Contest for District 144 and resolved that Robert E. Talton be seated unconditionally as a member of the House of Representatives for District 144.
Bill Blackwood died 6/25/93. Elvira Reyna elected in special election 11/2/93, sworn 12/13/93.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.