Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Election Law Violations, Investigation, Special - 47th R.S. (1941)

Committee Members
Joe Lafayette Hill, Chair
E. Harold Beck
Terrell Claude Chadick
John Lee Smith
William Elver Stone
Olan Rogers Van Zandt
• 1. Ascertain the aggregate amount, so far as it is capable of being determined, of money spent in radio advertising by the candidates in the last primary election for State office.
2. The aggregate amount of money spent by or in behalf of candidates for State office for newspaper advertising, for printing, stationery and supplies, for office help and for such other personal help for which compensation was paid.
3. The aggregate amount expended by the candidates for State office for headquarters expense, telegraph and telephone charges, for transportation and any and all other expenses not herein specifically set out.
4. The reasonable value of services or other things or articles of value other than money contributed to candidates for public office insofar as possible and by whom contributed.
5. Determine whether or not the election laws have been violated.
Make a report of findings to the Regular Session of the Forty-seventh Legislature, and to prepare a bill or bills to prevent corrupt practices in elections and/or to revise the present election laws to the end that the purity of the ballot may be maintained.

Appointed by Lieutenant Governor 4/2/1941, pursuant to SR 80. See also: SR 185 regarding expenses of committee, pp. 2478-2480; committee transcripts, L1803.9 In86 (show Joe Hill as Chair).
Olan Van Zandt (Member) resigned and William Stone (Member) appointed to replace, 4/14/1941.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.