Senate Committee on Creation and Expansion of Minority and Women-Owned Business Ownership Opportunities, Special Advisory - 71st R.S. (1989)

Committee Members

Public members

  • Richard W. Fisher
  • Doris Ford
  • Donald W. Hicks, Sr.
  • Regina Montoya
  • Viola Pitts
  • Maggie Trejo


  • Formulate a plan for remedying past discrimination against minority and women-owned businesses and expanding opportunity for all economically disadvantaged groups that includes specific goals, timelines for achievement and methodology for implementing the plan, as well as recommendations on using current authorized bonding for small business start-up loan assistance or development and expansion of incubator plans and models, and using any other available resources for business start-up or expansion at local, state and federal levels.
  • Monitor the progress of all relevant agencies.


Appointed pursuant to SR 746.

Senate members and public members Richard Fisher, Donald Hicks and Regina Montoya appointed by the Lieutenant Governor 2/5/1990. Doris Ford was appointed as a public member by the Lieutenant Governor 3/19/1990. The letter appointing Doris Ford does not list Richard Fisher as a member of the committee. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor, Feb. 15, 1990 and March 19, 1990. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments 70th-71st, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)

Delwin Jones and Maggie Trejo appointed by the Speaker 8/22/1990. Albert Price, Renato Cuellar, Fred Blair, and Karyne Jones Conley appointed by the Speaker 8/28/1990. Viola Pitts appointed by the Speaker 8/31/1990. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, August 1990. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.