Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Ways and Means - 71st R.S. (1989)

Committee Members
James Hury, Chair
Albert Luna III, Vice Chair
Bill Hollowell, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Hugo Berlanga
Tom Craddick
Robert Earley
Talmadge Heflin
Dan Morales
Stan Schlueter
Curtis Seidlits
Mark Stiles
Ric Williamson
Ron Wilson
Steven Wolens
• To monitor all activities and to have budget oversight responsibilities for those agencies, boards and commissions as listed in Rule 3, Section 36.
• To study the Railroad Commission Article 606 tax and it's impact on intrastate pipelines, interstate pipelines, brokers, producers with end-use sales and their customers.
• To study the equity of the current health maintenance organization tax system and the feasibility of alternatives and whether health maintenance organizations should be taxed as health care providers or as indemnity insurers.
• To study effective property tax administration, including consolidating collections, increased privatization of collections and other options, comparative collections, increased privatization of collections and other states and potential local consolidation in property tax administration.

No Interim Report was issued.
Interim member information from 71st Legislature Interim Committees, L1800.1 In8 71. This source does not list Robert Earley as a member of the Committee; however, his name appears on a press release issued March 30, 1990.
Stanley Schleuter (Member) resigned 9/19/1989.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.