Electric Utility Restructuring, Legislative Oversight - 76th R.S. (1999)

Committee Members


  • The Joint Committee on Oversight of Electric Utility Restructuring was created by SB 7 76th R.S.. The committee is charged with overseeing the implementation of SB 7, 76th Legislature, the electric utility restructuring bill, and monitoring its effectiveness. Under SB 7, 76th Legislature, the electric utility market will be opened to competition by January 2002. The joint committee includes five members of the Texas Senate, appointed by the lieutenant governor, and five members of the Texas House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker. The committee is chaired by Sen. David Sibley and Rep. Steve Wolens, authors of SB 7, 76th Legislature.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.