Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Security for Judgments, Special - 70th R.S. (1987)

Committee Members
Carl Parker, Co-Chair
Jim Parker, Co-Chair
Kent A. Caperton
Charles Evans
O.H. 'Ike' Harris
Kenny Marchant
John T. Montford
Dan Morales
H. Tati Santiesteban
Curtis Seidlits
Dan Shelley
• Study Texas law and procedure relating to security for judgments in order to clarify the law and afford equity, while preserving the right of persons to obtain appropriate relief and access through the appellate processes in the court system. The study should address:
(1) the need to clarify the law to confirm that the courts have the flexibility and discretion in determining the amount of bond required to supersede a judgment;
(2) the desirability of providing that the posting of a bond in the required amount shall also supersede the right to obtain abstracts of judgments and full judgment liens; and
(3) whether a maximum level of bond should be established consistent with the availability of surety bonding capacity and the Texas constitutional policy of ensuring open access to the courts.

Appointed pursuant to SCR 122.
Senate members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor 9/9/1987. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, September 9, 1987. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments, L1803.1 P926la)
Original House members appointed by the Speaker 9/16/1987. Charles Evans resigned 10/30/1987. Ken Marchant appointed 4/6/1988. Jim Parker appointed Co-Chair 4/6/1988. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, September 16, 1987 and April 6, 1988. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.