Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Insurance Regulation, Special - 71st R.S. (1989)

Committee Members
John J. Gavin, Co-Chair
John T. Montford, Co-Chair
Kim Brimer
Eddie Cavazos
David Counts
Gene Green
O.H. 'Ike' Harris
Ted Lyon
Bob McFarland
Gwyn Clarkston Shea
• Conduct a comprehensive study of the State Board of Insurance, propose solutions to correct regulatory deficiencies at that agency, make recommendations for the statutory reorganization of insurance regulation by the State of Texas and participate in the recodification of the Texas Insurance Code. The committee's study of state insurance regulation shall include issues relating to data-reporting requirements, the role of rating organizations, and exemption from state antitrust laws.
• The committee shall investigate fraudulent practices among insurance companies and insurance agents.
• The committee shall study the structure and operation of the CATPOOL; in addition, the committee should also consider the exposure of taxpayers all over the state caused by the $100 million limit on property losses paid by the CATPOOL and the advisability of raising that limit from the 1979 level.
• The committee shall study the regulation of title insurance and industry practices in that area.

Created by a proclamation issued by the Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the House under authority vested in HCR 142. See House and Senate Committees 71st 72nd Leg., L1800.1 p926.
House members appointed 9/28/1989. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, September 28, 1989. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)
Senate members appointed 10/03/1989. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, October 3, 1989. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments 70th-71st, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.