Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Proprietary Schools, Interim - 71st R.S. (1989)

Committee Members
Wilhelmina Delco, Co-Chair
Bill Haley, Co-Chair
Harold V. Dutton, Jr.
Ernestine Glossbrenner
Carl Parker
Tom Anderson
Bruce Aumack
Lorin Boswell
Dale Campbell
Thomas E. Colvin
Paul Ellis
Lee Murdy
Lucien Rouze
• (a) An interim committee is created to consider and evaluate the system the state uses to approve and regulate courses of study offered by proprietary schools. The committee shall report its findings to the 72nd Legislature, including any drafts of any proposed legislation necessary to implement its recommendations.
(b)The committee shall consider the policies and procedures of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the Central Education Agency, and other agencies regarding proprietary school programs, including:
(1) on-site evaluation of facilities;
(2) qualifications and continuity of teaching staff;
(3) student admission and recruitment procedures;
(4) placement of proprietary school graduates;
(5) counseling and support services for students;
(6) student loan default rates;
(7) student dropout rates;
(8) the reasonableness of requiring proprietary schools to distribute cost comparison information prepared by the agency under Subsection (b) of Section 32.21 of this code to prospective students;
(9) the consistency of course hour lengths and curriculum content between similar programs being offered in proprietary schools, junior colleges, and other public institutions; and
(10) the use of degrees by proprietary schools.

Created and charged by SB 417.
House member Bill Arnold appointed 11/01/1989. Public members Paul Ellis and Lucien Rouze appointed 10/26/1989. Public member Lorin Boswell,Jr., appointed 11/06/1989.(Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, October 26, 1989, November 1, 1989 and November 6, 1989. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)
Wilhelmina Delco was appointed to the committee in her capacity as chair of the House Higher Education Committee, pursuant to SB 417, and was named co-chair 11/7/1989. Ernestine Glossbrenner was appointed to the committee in her capacity as chair of the House Public Education Committee, pursuant to SB 417. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, November 1, 1989 and November 7, 1989. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)
The Texas Appointment System indicates that Harold Dutton was appointed by the Speaker on 02/23/1990.
Senate member Bill Haley and public members Thomas Colvin, Lee Murdy and Bruce Aumack appointed 10/10/1989. Bill Haley named co-chair 11/07/1989. Carl Parker was appointed to the committee in his capacity as chairman of the Senate Education Committee, pursuant to SB 417. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, October 10, 1989, November 11, 1989 and November 13, 1989. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments 70th-71st, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.