Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Higher Education, Select - 69th R.S. (1985)

Committee Members
Wilhelmina Delco
Ray Farabee
Grant Jones
Gib Lewis
Albert Luna III
Carl Parker
Jim D. Rudd
Larry Temple, Chair
Glenn Biggs
Bill Blakemore
Reynaldo Garza
Norman Hackerman
Bill Hobby
Bob Inman
Deborah Kastrin
Earl Lewis
Wales Madden, Jr.
Joe McCormick
George Mitchell
Peter O'Donnell, Jr.
Bill Parsley
Arthur Temple ()
Mark White
• Make a comprehensive study of all issues and concerns relating to higher education in Texas, covering all components of the higher education system, including junior colleges.
• The study should include, but not be limited to, funding; cost-effective alternatives for maintaining the higher education system; curriculum requirements; undergraduate, graduate, and professional education programs; and technology; and it should give particular emphasis to the issues of long-term enrollment projections; the distribution, production, and excellence of academic programs, projected appropriations; and the projected needs for higher education programs, research, and facilities in Texas.

Senate members and public members Wales Madden, George Mitchell, Norman Hackerman and Peter O'Donnell appointed by the Lieutenant Governor 9/27/1985. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, September 27, 1985. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments, L1803.1 P926la 1981-86 2.)
Appointed pursuant to HCR 105.
Task forces appointed by Chairman Larry Temple 3/17/1986 (Memorandum to Select Committee Members, 3/17/1986).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.