Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on 21st Century Colleges and Universities, Special - 76th R.S. (1999)

Committee Members
Teel Bivins
Bill Ratliff
Carlos F. Truan
Royce West
Jim Adams, Chair
Kirbyjon Caldwell
Tony Garza
James G. Hooton
Betsy Goebel Jones
Margarita Diaz Kintz
Nancy Cain Marcus
Elaine Mendoza
John Opperman
Jeff Sandefer
Karen Shewbart
Danny Vickers
Pam Willeford
• The Commission shall study issues related to institutions of higher education and their role in contributing to the human capital needed for the State of Texas to be a leader in the new economy of the 21st Century. These issues should include, but not be limited to:
The accessibility and affordability of higher education with special attention to the long-term impact of the changing demographics of the state;
The future workforce needs of the state and the role of higher education in addressing those needs;
The appropriate role and mission of institutions in meeting state priorities;
The effective use of technology in delivering education and training;
The development and improvement of appropriate accountability measures and benchmarks to measure performance;
The development of strategies to pursue and attain academic excellence;
The role of higher education in investment in research and development and its link to economic growth;
The use of funding mechanisms to reward performance and provide incentives to address state priorities;
The formation of partnerships with business for training and re-training to address workforce demands; and
The role of the Higher Education Coordinating Board in pursuing state priorities.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.