Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Natural Resources - 78th R.S. (2003)

Committee Members
Ken Armbrister, Chair
Mike Jackson, Vice Chair
Gonzalo Barrientos
Robert Duncan
Craig Estes
Troy Fraser
Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa
Jon Lindsay
Eddie Lucio
Frank Madla
Florence Shapiro
Todd Staples
• Study the ongoing efforts, and make recommendations, as needed, to achieve cleaner air in Texas including:
Implementation of HB 1365, 78th Legislature, Regular Session;
State Implementation Plan revisions;
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality's (TCEQ) implementation of the 8-hour air quality standard;
Early action compacts and other innovative air quality planning tools;
Emissions transport issues, including recent court decisions and federal legislation implementing transport policy;
Transition of the Texas Council on Environmental Technology to TCEQ; and
Regional air quality challenges.
• Study long-term funding and planning solutions to combat erosion along the Texas coast with particular attention to: the National Flood Insurance Program, securing, matching and additional federal dollars, and alternative funding approaches.
• Study and make recommendations regarding current state and federal laws relating to the permitting and operation of landfills. Issues to be considered include the generation and transportation of waste; the selection, approval, and regulation of treatment and storage facilities; the projected demand for new facilities; and the adequacy of existing technology to safely dispose of waste.
• Study the consistent implementation of federal and state air and water quality standards by local governments and make recommendations for improving the consistency and effectiveness of the requirements.

Charged by the Lieutenant Governor 1/21/2004. (Press Release, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, January 21, 2004.)
Frank Madla appointed April 19, 2004. (Press Release, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, April 19, 2004.)
Florence Shapiro removed April 19, 2004. (Press Release, Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, April 19, 2004.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.