Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Higher Education - 78th R.S. (2003)

Committee Members
Geanie Morrison, Chair
Tony Goolsby, Vice Chair
Irma Rangel, Vice Chair
Fred Brown, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Norma Chavez
Helen Giddings
Jesse Jones
Ken Mercer
Joe Nixon
John Smithee
  • Review the efficiency of Texas' financial assistance programs and the methods used to disseminate financial assistant information.
  • Review the effectiveness of developmental education. Evaluate the current method of administration at Texas' two-year and four-year institutions of higher education.
  • Examine eligibility criteria and definitions relating to admissions and access to financial assistance at Texas' institutions of higher education, as they relate to mobile students and to students who obtain nontraditional secondary educations.
  • Monitor the agencies and programs under the committee's jurisdiction and the implementation of legislation passed in the 78th Legislature.

Irma Rangel (Vice Chair) died 3/18/2003. Tony Goolsby (Vice Chair) appointed 4/10/2003.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.