Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on County Affairs - 69th R.S. (1985)

Committee Members
J.W. Buchanan, Chair
Gary Thompson, Chair
J.W. Buchanan, Vice Chair
Robert Eckels, Vice Chair
Foster Whaley, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Ben Campbell
Robert Earley
Bob Hunter
Sam Johnson
Arves E. Jones
Ron Lewis
Pete Patterson
Phyllis Robinson
Foster Whaley
Ric Williamson
John Willy
• Study the availability and feasibility of alternative revenue sources for county government finance.
• Study the impact on county governments of the U.S. Supreme Court decision in Garcia V. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority.
• Study the recodification of the government code with special emphasis on the county government subtitle.
• Monitor all activities and have budget and oversight responsibilities for those agencies, boards and commissions as listed in Rule 3, Section 5.

Gary Thompson (Chair) resigned 6/2/1986. J.W. Buchanan appointed Chair 6/3/1986. Bob Hunter appointed (Member) 8/21/1986. Robert Eckels appointed Vice-Chair 9/2/1986. (Press Releases, Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, June 3, 1986, August 21, 1986 and September 2, 1986. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)
Regular Session, committee appointed by Speaker 1/17/1985: Gary Thompson (Chair), J. W. Buchanan (Vice Chair), Ben Campbell, Robert Earley, Robert Eckels, Sam Johnson, Arves E. Jones, Ron Lewis, Pete Patterson, Phyllis Robinson, Foster Whaley (Chairman for Budget & Oversight), Ric Williamson, John Willy.
2nd C.S., committee appointed by Speaker 8/26/1986: J. W. Buchanan (Chair), Robert Eckels (Vice Chair), Ben Campbell, Robert Earley, Bob Hunter, Sam Johnson, Arves E. Jones, Ron Lewis, Pete Patterson, Phyllis Robinson, Foster Whaley (Chairman for Budget & Oversight), Ric Williamson, John Willy.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.