Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Windstorm Coverage and Budgetary Impact, Interim - 79th R.S. (2005)

Committee Members
Mike Jackson, Co-Chair
John Smithee, Co-Chair
Kim Brimer
Warren Chisum
Joe Driver
Robert Duncan
Craig Eiland
Troy Fraser
Kyle L. Janek
Eddie Lucio
Allan Ritter
Gene Seaman
Larry Taylor
Royce West
• Study the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA) and make recommendations regarding the structure for funding catastrophic weather-related losses along the Texas coast under TWIA's authority.
• Study the extent to which public securities may be issued as a supplemental or alternative method to raise funds to cover such losses; whether public securities should be issued on a pre-catastrophic basis, post-catastrophic basis, or both; whether caps should be placed on such public securities, and the amount of such caps; the level of loss necessary before public securities are utilized; whether public securities and all debt services on public securities may be paid by premium surcharges; examine the amount of premium surcharges, the policyholder base that may be surcharged; and the types of policies to which a premium surcharge may apply.
• Study the use of modeling and other rating methodologies in determining windstorm rate adequacy in Tier I and Tier II coastal counties.
• Study whether insurers assessed for funds to cover losses may recover such assessment by way of a premium surcharge; consider the amount of premium surcharge; the policyholder base that may be surcharged, and the types of policies to which a premium surcharge may apply; examine alternative methods of recoupment such as premium tax credits.
• Study the extent to which reinsurance may be used to cover losses; consider the creation of a Texas Windstorm Reinsurance Facility and Trust Fund.
• Study the extent to which the Catastrophic Trust Fund (CRTF) may be used to cover losses; examine ways to increase funds in the CRTF.
• Study combining the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association with the Fair Access to Insurance Association (FAIR) and the need to clarify TWIA's federal taxation exempt status.
• Study catastrophic history, population growth, and storm exposure along the Texas coast; examine other coastal state's methods for windstorm loss funding; and examine ways of increasing or encouraging loss mitigation by individuals, insurers and government entities.

Created by the Speaker and the Lieutenant Governor under the authority granted by HCR 35, 79th R.S.
Kim Brimer and Craig Eiland appointed pursuant to Rule 1, Section 16 (House) and Rule 11.03 (Senate), 4/11/2006, (Proclamation, Tom Craddick and David Dewhurst, 4/11/2006.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.