Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

Reduction of Expenditures of the State Government - 8th R.S. (1859)

Committee Members
H.D. Redwine, Co-Chair
James Webb Throckmorton, Co-Chair
Thomas R. Cocke
John Wilson Davis
Frederick Forney Foscue
Robert Henry Guinn
Jesse Parsons
Aaron Perry
Albert Gallitan Walker
David Moreland Whaley
  • Examine propriety of reducing expenditures of the state government.*

Senators Throckmorton, Guinn, and Parsons appointed by Lieutenant Governor 3/22/1861 pursuant to resolution by Throckmorton, Senators Whaley and Walker added 3/29/1861 (Senate Journal, 8th Adjourned, pp. 10-11, 136).
Representatives Redwine, Foscue, John W. Davis, Perry, and Cocke appointed by Speaker 3/26/1861 (House Journal, 8th Adjourned, p. 146; Blackstone Davis of Bastrop resigned 2/14/1861).
Report presented by Senator Throckmorton on behalf of the committee on expenditures to the Lunatic, Deaf and Dumb, and Blind Asylums on 4/3/1861. Final report issued by co-chairs, Senator Throckmorton and Representative Redwine on 4/6/1861.

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.