Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Legislators and Leaders - Lt. Governors of Texas, 1846 - present - Lt. Governor William Harding Mayesprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Lt. Governor William Harding Mayes    
William Harding Mayes
Full name: William Harding Mayes
Party: Democrat
Term as Lt.Governor: January 21, 1913 - May 6, 1914*
Legislatures as Lt. Governor:
33 1st C.S. (July 21, 1913 - August 19, 1913)
33 R.S. (January 14, 1913 - April 1, 1913)
Legislative offices:
Elected state or federal offices:
No clips found.
*Mayes tendered his resignation to Governor Colquitt on April 1, 1914, to become Dean of the School of Journalism at the University of Texas. His resignation was not effective until May 6th, 1914, when Colquitt filed Mayes's letter of resignation with the Secretary of State on the same day that Mayes ipso facto forfeited the office of Lieutenant Governor under the dual office holding provisions of the Texas Constitution by accepting his first paycheck from the University. Senate presidents pro tem Collins, Warren, Wiley, Gibson, Morrow, Taylor, Watson, and Nugent filled in for the vacancy until William Hobby was inaugurated on January 19, 1915.
Speeches  (3)
Messages or Proclamations  (0)
News Releases  (0)
Other  (0)