Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Legislators and Leaders - Texas Legislators: Past & Present - Member profileprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Oscar McCracken Oscar Augustus McCracken
Full Name: Oscar Augustus McCracken, Jr.
Date of birth: March 24, 1903
Date of death: December 16, 1958

Terms of Service top
Chamber District Dates of Service Legislatures Party City/County Note Counties in District
H 78-1 Jan 12, 1937 - Jun 25, 1937 45th (1)   Democrat San Antonio / Bexar   Bexar
(1) Preston L. Anderson, sworn 9/27/1937, succeeded Oscar A. McCracken, Jr., who did not attend 1st Called Session and resigned after it. Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004, 2005.
Biographical Notes and Resources top
Biographical Sketches
  • Memorial, March 1959, p. 157. Texas Bar Journal.
  • Other Resources
  • Oscar Augustus McCracken, Jr. birth date 3/24/1903 in Floresville, death date 12/16/1958 in Houston, attorney. FamilySearch Texas Deaths, 1890-1976.
  • Oscar A. McCracken, Jr., birth date 3/24/1903, death date 12/16/1958, interment in Mission Burial Park South, San Antonio. Find a Grave.
  • Obituary, "Sinclair Official Dies in Houston," Ennis Daily News, 12/17/1958, p. 1, crediting the Ennis Public Library. Oscar McCracken "practiced law in San Antonio until 1936 when he was elected to the Texas legislature." Portal to Texas History (University of North Texas Libraries).
  • 45th Legislature (1937) - O.A. McCracken, Jr., postoffice San Antonio, Bexar County, nativity Texas, attorney (no age listed). Texas Legislative Manual.
  • Photographs
  • Photograph. Oscar McCracken,45th Legislature, State Preservation Board
  • Composite Photographs on Display in the Capitol
  • 45th session composite photo of House members (3rd floor back hall, west wall. 3W.C1). State Preservation Board.
  • Committee Informationtop
    45th R.S. - 1937
    Privileges, Suffrage and Elections  
    Public Printing  
    Revenue and Taxation  

    This website is a work in progress. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.

    Have a question, comment or contribution? Email the Library or call 512-463-1252.

    Many photos in Texas Legislators: Past and Present are used with permission of the Texas State Preservation Board. For permission to reproduce these photos, please contact the Texas State Preservation Board graphics coordinator at 512-475-3060.