Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Direct search - Search results

Search results Help  |  Status

SB 5, 85th Regular Session
Relating to requiring a voter to present proof of identification; providing a criminal penalty and increasing a criminal penalty.

Last action: Effective on 1/1/18

Author: Joan Huffman
Joint Author: Paul Bettencourt | Brian Birdwell | Dawn Buckingham | Konni Burton | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Craig Estes | Bob Hall | Kelly Hancock | Don Huffines | Bryan Hughes | Lois Kolkhorst | Jane Nelson | Robert Nichols | Charles Perry | Charles Schwertner | Kel Seliger | Larry Taylor | Van Taylor
Sponsor: Phil King
Joint Sponsor: Jodie Laubenberg | Charlie Geren | Tan Parker | Scott Sanford
CoSponsor: Cindy Burkett | Dan Flynn | Dwayne Bohac | Rick Miller | Gary VanDeaver | Cole Hefner | Craig Goldman | Chris Paddie | Byron Cook | Mike Lang | Matt Rinaldi | Matt Shaheen | Cecil Bell | Bill Zedler | Jeff Leach | Dustin Burrows | Will Metcalf | Pat Fallon | Matt Krause | Ed Thompson | Dennis Paul | Greg Bonnen | John Zerwas | Kevin Roberts | Drew Darby | Ernest Bailes | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Lynn Stucky | Trent Ashby | Briscoe Cain | Todd Hunter | Phil Stephenson | J. M. Lozano | Geanie W. Morrison | Valoree Swanson | John Frullo

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 410, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 2481 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/26/2017) Phil King (Chair) | Pat Fallon | Craig Goldman | Jodie Laubenberg | Eddie Lucio III |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/25/2017) Joan Huffman (Chair) | Paul Bettencourt | Bryan Hughes | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Jane Nelson |

Gubernatorial documents:

Elections--Registration & Suffrage

House Committee: Elections (Jodie Laubenberg, Rodney Anderson, Pat Fallon, Celia Israel, Lyle Larson, Ron Reynolds, Valoree Swanson)
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Joan Huffman, Brian Birdwell, Brandon Creighton, Craig Estes, Bryan Hughes, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Jane Nelson, Charles Schwertner, Judith Zaffirini)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.