Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Direct search - Search resultsprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Search results Help  |  Status

SB 24, 85th Regular Session
Relating to a privilege from disclosure to governmental units for certain evidence concerning sermons delivered by a religious leader.

Last action: Effective immediately

Author: Joan Huffman
Joint Author: Kelly Hancock
Coauthor: Brian Birdwell | Lois Kolkhorst | Robert Nichols | Donna Campbell | Charles Perry | Brandon Creighton | Bryan Hughes | Van Taylor | Bob Hall | José Menéndez | Larry Taylor | Don Huffines | Royce West
Sponsor: Charlie Geren
Joint Sponsor: Dennis Bonnen | Four Price | John Kuempel | Chris Paddie
CoSponsor: Byron Cook | Hugh Shine | Paul Workman | Cecil Bell | Jarvis Johnson | Dustin Burrows | Drew Springer | Todd Hunter | Craig Goldman | Giovanni Capriglione | Matt Krause | Stephanie Klick | Matt Rinaldi | Wayne Faircloth | Briscoe Cain | Tony Tinderholt | Kyle Biedermann | Dan Flynn | Greg Bonnen | Ernest Bailes | Jeff Leach | John Wray | Tom Oliverson | Trent Ashby | Stan Lambert | Dennis Paul | Gary VanDeaver | Kevin Roberts | John Zerwas | Bill Zedler | Terry M. Wilson | Justin Holland | Kyle Kacal | James Frank | Leighton Schubert | Morgan Meyer | Andrew Murr | Brooks Landgraf | Ed Thompson | Geanie W. Morrison | Lance Gooden | Phil Stephenson | John Frullo | Larry Phillips | Mike Schofield | Mark Keough | James White | Phil King | Travis Clardy | Dade Phelan | Lynn Stucky | Will Metcalf | Rodney Anderson | Dwayne Bohac | Rick Miller | Cindy Burkett | Scott Cosper | DeWayne Burns | Ron Simmons | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Cole Hefner | Mike Lang | Jonathan Stickland | Scott Sanford | John Raney | Linda Koop | Ken King | Valoree Swanson | Angie Button | Jay Dean | Pat Fallon | Drew Darby

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 39, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 3956 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)

Gubernatorial documents:

City Government--General
Civil Remedies & Liabilities
Courts--Civil Procedure
Open Records
Political Subdivisions
State Agencies, Boards & Commissions

House Committee: State Affairs (Byron Cook, Tom Craddick, Jessica Farrar, Charlie Geren, Helen Giddings, Ryan Guillen, Ken King, John Kuempel, Morgan Meyer, René Oliveira, Chris Paddie, Eddie Rodriguez, John Smithee)
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Joan Huffman, Brian Birdwell, Brandon Creighton, Craig Estes, Bryan Hughes, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Jane Nelson, Charles Schwertner, Judith Zaffirini)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.