Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Direct search - Search results

Search results Help  |  Status

HJR 3, 78th Regular Session
Proposing a constitutional amendment concerning civil lawsuits against doctors and health care providers, and other actions, authorizing the legislature to determine limitations on non-economic damages.

Last action: Filed with the Secretary of State

Author: Joe Nixon
Coauthor: Ray Allen | Todd Baxter | Leo Berman | Dwayne Bohac | Dan Branch | Betty Brown | Fred Brown | Bill Callegari | Scott Campbell | Jaime Capelo | Carter Casteel | Warren Chisum | Wayne Christian | Byron Cook | Robert Cook | Frank Corte | Joe Crabb | Myra Crownover | John Davis | Glenda Dawson | Dianne Delisi | Mary Denny | Joe Driver | Rob Eissler | Gary Elkins | Dan Flynn | Dan Gattis | Charlie Geren | Toby Goodman | Tony Goolsby | Bob Griggs | Kent Grusendorf | Mike Hamilton | Peggy Hamric | Rick Hardcastle | Linda Harper-Brown | Glenn Hegar | Fred Hill | Ruben Hope | Bob Hunter | Suzanna Hupp | Carl Isett | Elizabeth Jones | Bill Keffer | Jim Keffer | Phil King | Lois Kolkhorst | Mike Krusee | Edmund Kuempel | Jodie Laubenberg | Jerry Madden | Kenny Marchant | Brian McCall | Ken Mercer | Sid Miller | Geanie Morrison | Anna Mowery | Ken Paxton | Larry Phillips | Joseph Pickett | Jim Pitts | Elvira Reyna | Debbie Riddle | Gene Seaman | Wayne Smith | Burt Solomons | Jack Stick | David Swinford | Larry Taylor | Corbin Van Arsdale | Arlene Wohlgemuth | Martha Wong | Beverly Woolley | Bill Zedler
Sponsor: Jane Nelson

Remarks: Enabling legislation is HB 4.

Session Law Chapter: Acts 2003, 78th R.S., HJR 3


SJR 48 (Very Similar)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)

Gubernatorial documents:

Civil Remedies & Liabilities
Resolutions--Constitutional Amendments
Tort Reform

House Committee: Civil Practices (Joe Nixon, Jaime Capelo, Yvonne Davis, Dan Gattis, Will Hartnett, Phil King, Mike Krusee, Patrick Rose, Beverly Woolley)
Minutes: February 19 2003 | March 4 2003 | March 24 2003
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Robert Duncan, Bill Ratliff, Kenneth Armbrister, Rodney Ellis, Troy Fraser, Chris Harris, Frank Madla, Jane Nelson, Florence Shapiro, Todd Staples, Tommy Williams)
Minutes: May 13 2003

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.