HB 5, 83rd R.S. history

Help | Status

HB 5, 83rd R.S.
Relating to public school accountability, including assessment, and curriculum requirements; providing a criminal penalty.

Last action: See remarks for effective date

Author: Jimmie Don Aycock
Joint Author: Joe Deshotel | John Davis | Mike Villarreal | Bill Callegari
Coauthor: Alma Allen | Carol Alvarado | Trent Ashby | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | Greg Bonnen | Terry Canales | Travis Clardy | Nicole Collier | Byron Cook | Philip Cortez | Tony Dale | Drew Darby | Harold V. Dutton, Jr. | Pat Fallon | Joe Farias | Marsha Farney | Allen Fletcher | Dan Flynn | James Frank | Larry Gonzales | R. D. "Bobby" Guerra | Ryan Guillen | Harvey Hilderbran | Dan Huberty | Jason Isaac | Kyle Kacal | Jim Keffer | Ken King | Phil King | Susan King | Tim Kleinschmidt | Lois Kolkhorst | John Kuempel | Lyle Larson | George Lavender | Jeff Leach | Oscar Longoria | J. M. Lozano | Eddie Lucio III | Ruth McClendon | Joe Moody | Geanie Morrison | Sergio Muñoz, Jr. | Jim Murphy | John Otto | Chris Paddie | Diane Patrick | Charles Perry | Walter "Four" Price | John Raney | Bennett Ratliff | Richard Peña Raymond | Ron Reynolds | Eddie Rodriguez | Justin Rodriguez | Ralph Sheffield | Wayne Smith | Jonathan Stickland | Chris Turner | Jason Villalba | Hubert Vo | James White | Paul Workman | Gene Wu | John Zerwas
Sponsor: Dan Patrick
CoSponsor: Charles Schwertner

Remarks: This Act takes effect immediately, except Section 29 takes effect beginning with the 2014-2015 school year, Section 78(a) takes effect September 1, 2013, and Sections 36(a) and 78(b) take effect September 1, 2014.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2013, 83rd R.S.,ch. 211, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation

Bill Analyses:
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/10/2013) Jimmie Don Aycock (Chair) | Joe Deshotel | Larry Gonzales | Dan Huberty | Eddie Rodriguez |

Senate Members:
(appointed 05/17/2013) Dan Patrick (Chair) | Robert Duncan | Kel Seliger | Leticia Van de Putte | Tommy Williams |

Gubernatorial documents:

Education--Higher--Admission & Attendance
Education--Primary & Secondary--Accountability
Education--Primary & Secondary--Curriculum
Education--Primary & Secondary--Testing
Education--School Districts

House Committee: Public Education (Jimmie Don Aycock, Alma Allen, John Davis, Joe Deshotel, Harold V. Dutton, Jr., Marsha Farney, Dan Huberty, Ken King, Bennett Ratliff, Justin Rodriguez, Mike Villarreal)
Minutes: February 19 2013 | March 12 2013 | March 26 2014 | October 8 2014
Senate Committee: Education (Dan Patrick, Donna Campbell, Robert Duncan, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Ken Paxton, Kel Seliger, Larry Taylor, Leticia Van de Putte, Royce West)

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.