SB 18, 86th R.S. history

Help | Status

SB 18, 86th R.S.
Relating to the protection of expressive activities at public institutions of higher education.

Last action: Effective on 9/1/19

Author: Joan Huffman
Joint Author: Jane Nelson
Coauthor: Donna Campbell | Dawn Buckingham | Brandon Creighton | Pat Fallon | Judith Zaffirini | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | Charles Schwertner | Paul Bettencourt
Sponsor: Charlie Geren
Joint Sponsor: Briscoe Cain | Craig Goldman | Tom Oliverson | Dade Phelan
CoSponsor: Steve Allison | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Cecil Bell | Keith Bell | Kyle Biedermann | Dwayne Bohac | Greg Bonnen | Brad Buckley | DeWayne Burns | Dustin Burrows | Giovanni Capriglione | Travis Clardy | Tom Craddick | John Cyrier | Drew Darby | Jay Dean | Dan Flynn | James B. Frank | Cody Harris | Cole Hefner | Justin Holland | Todd Hunter | Phil King | Stephanie Klick | Matt Krause | Stan Lambert | Brooks Landgraf | Mike Lang | Jeff Leach | Ben Leman | J. M. Lozano | Will Metcalf | Mayes Middleton | Rick Miller | Geanie W. Morrison | Jim Murphy | Andrew Murr | Chris Paddie | Tan Parker | Jared Patterson | Dennis Paul | Four Price | Scott Sanford | Matt Schaefer | Matt Shaheen | Hugh Shine | Reggie Smith | John Smithee | Drew Springer | Lynn Stucky | Valoree Swanson | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Steve Toth | Gary VanDeaver | James White | John Wray | Bill Zedler

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2019, 86th R.S.,ch. 568, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 3395 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Conference Committee:

Conference Committee Report 
House Members: (appointed 05/22/2019) Charlie Geren (Chair) | Keith Bell | Briscoe Cain | Drew Darby | Chris Turner |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/20/2019) Joan Huffman (Chair) | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Jane Nelson | Judith Zaffirini |

Civil Remedies & Liabilities
Education--Higher--Institutions & Programs

House Committee: Higher Education (Chris Turner, Lorraine Birabil, Angie Button, John Frullo, Donna Howard, Eric Johnson, Leo Pacheco, Matt Schaefer, John Smithee, Lynn Stucky, Armando Walle, Terry M. Wilson)
Minutes: April 25 2019
Senate Committee: State Affairs (Joan Huffman, Bryan Hughes, Brian Birdwell, Brandon Creighton, Pat Fallon, Bob Hall, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Jane Nelson, Judith Zaffirini)
Minutes: March 11 2019

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.