Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Advanced search - Search results - Bill detailsprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Bill details Help  |  Status

HJR 26, 79th 3rd C.S.
Proposing a constitutional amendment providing for an adjustment of the limitation on the total amount of ad valorem taxes that may be imposed for public school purposes on the residence homesteads of the elderly or disabled to reflect any change in the rate of those taxes.

Last action: Meeting cancelled

Author: Leo Berman
Joint Author: Warren Chisum | Jim McReynolds | Dan Flynn | Carlos Uresti
Coauthor: Alma Allen | Roberto Alonzo | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | Betty Brown | Robert Cook | Joe Crabb | John Davis | Joe Deshotel | Joe Driver | Al Edwards | Craig Eiland | Rob Eissler | Juan Escobar | David Farabee | Stephen Frost | Veronica Gonzales | Yvonne Gonzalez Toureilles | Toby Goodman | Tony Goolsby | Peggy Hamric | Rick Hardcastle | Ana Hernandez | Abel Herrero | Harvey Hilderbran | Ruben Hope | Chuck Hopson | Bryan Hughes | Jim Jackson | Delwin Jones | David Leibowitz | Tommy Merritt | Sid Miller | Geanie Morrison | Rob Orr | Aaron Peña | Larry Phillips | Jim Pitts | Chente Quintanilla | Richard Raymond | Debbie Riddle | Patrick Rose | Gene Seaman | Larry Taylor | Senfronia Thompson | Martha Wong | Bill Zedler
Sponsor: Bob Deuell

Remarks: Enabling legislation is HB 72.

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)

Disabilities, Persons with
Property Interests--Homestead
Resolutions--Constitutional Amendments
Taxation--Property-Assessment & Collection
Taxation--Property-Tax Rate
Taxation--School District

House Committee: Ways & Means (Jim Keffer, Al Edwards, Kent Grusendorf, Vilma Luna, Ken Paxton, Allan Ritter, John Smithee, Mike Villarreal, Beverly Woolley)
Minutes: May 1 2006 | May 4 2006
Senate Committee: Finance (Steve Ogden, Kip Averitt, Gonzalo Barrientos, Kim Brimer, Bob Deuell, Robert Duncan, Juan Hinojosa, Kyle Janek, Frank Madla, Jane Nelson, Florence Shapiro, Eliot Shapleigh, Todd Staples, Royce West, John Whitmire, Tommy Williams, Judith Zaffirini)

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.