Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Advanced search - Search results - Bill details

Bill details Help  |  Status

SB 532, 73rd Regular Session
Relating to the creation of the state jail division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and to the operations of other divisions of the department and community supervision and corrections departments, to the certification of certain offenders, and to the confinement of certain felons convicted of state jail felonies or awaiting transfer from county jails to the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice; providing penalties; making an appropriation from the economic stabilization fund.

Last action: Effective on 9/1/93

Author: John Whitmire
Coauthor: Eddie Lucio
Sponsor: Allen Hightower

Remarks: HR 801 and SR 1099 allows conference committee to go outside bounds.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 1993, 73rd R.S.,ch. 988, General and Special Laws of Texas

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)

Conference Committee:

House Members: (appointed 05/18/1993) Allen Hightower (Chair) | Al Granoff | Patricia Gray | Allen Place | Sylvester Turner |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/11/1993) John Whitmire (Chair) | Kenneth Armbrister | Carl Parker | Jeff Wentworth | Royce West |

Corrections--Jails & Prisons
State Finances--Appropriations

House Committee: Corrections (Allen Hightower, Karyne Conley, Homer Dear, Wilhelmina Delco, Al Granoff, Patricia Gray, Peggy Hamric, John Longoria, Allen Place, Barry Telford, Sylvester Turner)
Minutes: April 29 1993
Senate Committee: Committee of the Whole Senate (O.H. Harris, Kenneth Armbrister, Gonzalo Barrientos, Teel Bivins, J.E. Brown, Bob Bullock, Steven Carriker, Rodney Ellis, Bill Haley, Chris Harris, Don Henderson, John Leedom, Eddie Lucio, Gregory Luna, Frank Madla, Mike Moncrief, John Montford, Jane Nelson, Carl Parker, Jerry Patterson, Bill Ratliff, Peggy Rosson, Florence Shapiro, Dan Shelley, David Sibley, Bill Sims, Carlos Truan, Jim Turner, Jeff Wentworth, Royce West, John Whitmire, Judith Zaffirini)
Minutes: April 20 1993

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.