SB 1138, 85th R.S. history

Help | Status

SB 1138, 85th R.S.
Relating to the creation of the blue alert system to aid in the apprehension of an individual suspected of killing or causing serious bodily injury to a law enforcement officer.

Last action: Effective on 9/1/17

Author: John Whitmire
Joint Author: Paul Bettencourt | Brian Birdwell | Dawn Buckingham | Konni Burton | Donna Campbell | Brandon Creighton | Craig Estes | Sylvia Garcia | Bob Hall | Kelly Hancock | Juan Hinojosa | Don Huffines | Joan Huffman | Bryan Hughes | Lois Kolkhorst | Eddie Lucio, Jr. | José Menéndez | Borris Miles | Jane Nelson | Robert Nichols | Charles Perry | José Rodríguez | Charles Schwertner | Kel Seliger | Larry Taylor | Van Taylor | Carlos Uresti | Kirk Watson | Royce West | Judith Zaffirini
Sponsor: Matt Krause
Joint Sponsor: Jay Dean | Ryan Guillen | Jason Villalba | César Blanco
CoSponsor: Alma Allen | Charles "Doc" Anderson | Rodney Anderson | Trent Ashby | Ernest Bailes | Diego Bernal | Kyle Biedermann | Dwayne Bohac | Dennis Bonnen | DeWayne Burns | Briscoe Cain | Giovanni Capriglione | Travis Clardy | Philip Cortez | Joe Deshotel | Jessica Farrar | Barbara Gervin-Hawkins | Cole Hefner | Justin Holland | Dan Huberty | Phil King | Stan Lambert | Jeff Leach | J. M. Lozano | Armando Martinez | Will Metcalf | Ina Minjarez | Dade Phelan | Four Price | Richard Peña Raymond | Kevin Roberts | Scott Sanford | Matt Schaefer | Matt Shaheen | Hugh Shine | Ron Simmons | Phil Stephenson | Jonathan Stickland | Lynn Stucky | Ed Thompson | Tony Tinderholt | Tomas Uresti | Gary VanDeaver | Victoria Neave | Cindy Burkett | John Zerwas | Todd Hunter | Chris Paddie | Geanie W. Morrison | Valoree Swanson | Cecil Bell

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 2017, 85th R.S.,ch. 417, General and Special Laws of Texas

Signed legislation


HB 2189 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (TLC)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (House Research Organization)

Crimes--Against Persons--General
Criminal Procedure--General
Law Enforcement

House Committee: Homeland Security & Public Safety (Phil King, DeWayne Burns, Gina Hinojosa, Justin Holland, Jarvis Johnson, Will Metcalf, Poncho Nevárez, Matt Schaefer, John Wray)
Minutes: May 16 2017 | May 16 2017
Senate Committee: Criminal Justice (John Whitmire, Brian Birdwell, Konni Burton, Brandon Creighton, Sylvia Garcia, Joan Huffman, Bryan Hughes, José Menéndez, Charles Perry)
Minutes: March 6 2017

Index to Sections Affected

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.